I had the same setup, more or less, for years. This year though, has been some kind of paradigm shift for my little home studio. I’ve bought, tried and sold stuff. I’ve also changed room in the flat.

For a long time, I mostly used software, but now I’m leaning towards hardware. The two main reasons for that are: I got space (even if it’s not much) and I find it inspirational to work with new and tactile gear.

Also, I had an ambition of switching from Reason to Live, but since I’ve acquired so much gear, I haven’t had time to dig into Live properly.

Some changes

I upgraded my studio monitors from the Yamaha HS 10W (with subwoofer HS 50M) to the Genelec 8030A. I got rid of a good MIDI controller, the M-Audio Axiom Pro 61, with semi-weighted keys and all, to make room for a full-size, real synth, in this case, the Roland Alpha Juno-2.

Since March I’ve picked up and sold a microKORG and a volca sample. They had a few qualities, but didn’t quite fit my rig – neither sonically nor workflow-wise. I also got a BCR2000 MIDI controller this summer, for the microKORG and the Alpha Juno-2, but sold it because I didn’t needed it and it was too big and clumsy for my limited desk.

I understand this whole post isn’t that interesting. It’s merely some navel-gazing shit, totally nerdy. And to top this, here’s my hardware inventory of the home studio as of today.

Synths and drum machines:

  • Arturia MiniBrute
  • Boss Doctor Rhythm DR-110 Graphic
  • Gakken SX-150 Mark II
  • Korg volca bass
  • Korg volca keys
  • Moog Music Minitaur
  • Roland Alpha Juno-2
  • Roland Juno-106
  • Roland SH-101
  • Roland TR-606 Drumatix
  • Yamaha CS 01

Other stuff:

  • Fender Squier Bullet Strat with Tremolo HSS (Electric Guitar)
  • Genelec 8030A (Studio Monitors)
  • Mackie 1202VLZ4 (Analog Mixer)
  • Midiman Oxygen 8 (MIDI Controller)
  • Sennheiser HD 25-1 II (Headphones)
  • Shure BETA 58A (Microphone)
