Okay this is gonna be list of things, totally nerdy.

Background: One of the more popular posts on this blog is a photo of my home studio. But there have been some changes and additions since it was taken a year ago.

  • MacBook Pro Retina 15-inch 2,6 GHz 16 GB RAM, computer. A pretty good laptop, actually the best I’ve ever had.
  • MacBook Pro Core 2 Duo 15-inch 2,33 GHz 4 GB RAM, computer. It’s the blurry thing in the background. Nowadays it’s been dumbed down to mainly work as a server for streaming music and video around the apartment (what a waste).
  • Propellerhead Balance, audio interfaceI replaced the Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 with this one, not because I felt the former interface lacked anything, but I like Balance’s integration and unique features with the software I’m using, and the sound quality and built are top notch. (And when I first got the Scarlett 2i4, I imagined I’d be DJing and shit, but that didn’t pan out that way. I also thought I’d be needing the MIDI I/O, but I don’t use hardware as much as before.)
  • Propellerhead Reason 7, digital audio workstation. Been gradually switching from Apple Logic Pro 9 to this awesome software, at least it’s been awesome since version 6.5.
  • Yamaha HS 50M, powered monitor speaker. The best looking speakers ever made. (I’m thinking of getting Genelec 8030B and get rid of the sub, see below, but they’re ugly as fuck.) 
  • Yamaha HS 10W, powered subwoofer. Added since the picture was taken. It’s placed very unscientifically in the corner under the desk (I know it’s probably the worst spot in the entire room but wtf).
  • M-Audio Axiom Pro 61, MIDI controller. Not as a real piano, but quite alright semi-weighted keybed. Maybe the overall best controller out there.
  • Midiman Oxygen 8, MIDI controller. Old cheap shit. Small but great when programming sound design. Also due to it’s placed on the left side; you know, left hand on knobs and right hand on computer keyboard.
  • Shure BETA 58A, vocal microphone. A classic mic for occasional vox recordings. I got it recently and haven’t really put it to test yet, but great to have when you need.
  • Fender Squier Bullet Stratocaster HSS, electric guitar.budget instrument, which still is usable with the right processing, and player of course.
  • Roland Juno-106, polyphonic synthesizer. An old analog machine. Had it for year, still works, but rarely used.
  • Sennheiser HD 25-1 II, on ear headphones. I think these are great, a balance between quality, comfort and price.
  • Klotz and Cordial balanced cables. I dunno anything about cables.

Now, one might ask where’d he get all that paper to get all this stuff? Let me tell you it was not by selling music made with it.

