I was watching the Xbox presents Call of Duty: Ghosts Multiplayer Reveal, and overall, the game looks damn crisp, slightly cartoonish, but crisp.

Anyways, near the end of the live stream, Eric Hirshberg, president and CEO of Activision Publishing, said:

“Before we go I wanna talk about giving back to the most important fans we have – some of them are here today – the brave men and women who put themselves in harms way and inspire each and everyone of our games, I’m talking about our troops.”

He then wanted to sell a limited edition of the game including dog tags, designed to benefit the Call of Duty Endowment.

Hence, I don’t have a problem with helping service members’ transition to civilian careers after their military service, but I do have a problem with Eric Hirshberg’s definition of “our troops” – as if everybody’s American and that its troops are uplifted as “the most important [Call of Duty] fans”.

Hey, I’m only in it for the gameplay. Moreover, I’m Swedish and I don’t wanna be mixed up with US foreign policy. Actually, I’m a critic of the US imperial role in the world (but don’t call me anti-American). Read ya goddamn Chomsky man!

I try to avoid political topics on this blog – this ain’t the right forum for that.

I think the campaign narratives of the Call of Duty series are mostly rubbish, but I do enjoy multiplayer. The true euphoria and escapism of harassing noobs are totally worthwhile and very much rewarding. And that’s about it.

Eric Hirshberg, man, are you like five years old? Just because you publish a violent video game, don’t think the players around the globe sympathize with US invasions. They don’t, they like video games. You ought to be able to separate fantasy from real life.

P.S. I chatted with some fellow gamers, and it seems like most of us are gonna wait for the PS4 release of Ghosts, not buying it twice (you already do that by getting the Season Pass and DLCs). Rumor has it that the release date in Europe could be November 13, and November 1 in the US. But I’ve seen many different dates on the Internet, so who knows?

