I find lots of good music on SoundCloud. It’s really a fine resource.

I like all sorts of music, really. There’s a time and place for everything, right? And there are good and bad shit in all genres. But on SoundCloud, I tend to listen mostly to hip hop and dubstep, don’t know why.

Usually I look for unsigned acts and bedroom producers, not indie per se but still very underground, struggling artists, so to speak. The major ones you can find elsewhere.

image

A thing that differs a good song from a not so good, is the sound design quality. I’m not talking about volume here. Of course loud tracks stick out, but quality doesn’t count in decibels.

Here’s a random list of songs (which doesn’t reflect the whole spectrum of my taste in music nor is it complete in any sense). I think this shit is fucking awesome. Sometimes it’s the songwriting skills and sometimes the production value. Sometimes the performance and sometimes everything. Shout out to y’all!

P.S. If you’ve ever wondered how a mediocre producer could have thousands of plays and comments, read Terry Matthew’s article about the exploits using bots and fake followers to juice up stats.