Some days ago I finished playing through The Last of Us. I must say I enjoyed that journey, pretty much so.

But I figure the game isn’t for everybody. For example, among my Call of Duty crew, half of them diss The Last of Us, because they rather drive fast, shoot fast, live fast and die young. Yeah, you play shooters together with your homies over and over again, for hundreds of hours. Hail to the clan! Whilst The Last of Us is more like a season or two of a TV series, that lasts for around 15 hours.

And having seen a couple of zombie flicks (and played a couple of post-apocalyptic video games), you should be quite familiar with the premises and settings. Some events here may even seem a bit predictable. But the game’s take on the genre and the scale of it, is mostly impressive. And the craft and artwork is just fantastic.

This is character-driven storytelling at its best. And the characters, their motives and reactions are believable, I think. At least the voice acting and motion captures are perfect.

The game doesn’t play like Uncharted or Gears of War. The graphics might look like a mixture of these titles, but there’s no spraying and praying. Actually not much shooting at all. Instead, patience is golden; you’ll spend most of your time sneaking, finding spots and waiting for the right moment to take down the foes.

The Last of Us has bittersweet mood, perhaps a bit like Red Dead Redemption.

The game also offers online multiplayer, called Factions. I just tried it out for like twenty minutes, therefore I’m not in a position to adequately review it. Though my first impression is, that the stealth and strategic approach doesn’t translate that well to multiplayer gameplay. But that’s just me – remember, I like fast paced FPS.

Here’s an easy way out: if you want something more in depth, read Kirk Hamilton’s well-written review, which shares many of my opinions of the game.

