I’ve been wondering if I should write a post about nothing. Fuck it, let’s do it.

You see all those reblogged GIFs on Tumblr – some funny though – and 99 problems in young people’s love life. I’ve got respect for your struggle, but my blog ain’t about that thing.

PS3 Upgrade

So I upgraded my fat PS3 with a new hard disk drive. With just a few months away from the launch of PS4 this might seem a bit stupid right?

Anyway, I got a WD Blue 500 GB for less than 60 bucks (including VAT). It runs at 5400 RPM and is enough for all my installs. Beforehand I read some articles claiming those SSD not being worth the price tag, and that speeds at 7200 RPM may cause some overheat issues. Also the PS3 has a SATA revision 1 at 1.5 GBit/s, so there’s no need of higher rates.

For the most part, I play FPS multiplayer, you know, so a fast HDD wouldn’t make much sense. But sometimes I dig into single player RPG, such as Fallout or The Elder Scrolls, and spend quite some time on opening every fucking chest on every fucking remote location.

And I mean, one third of the “game time” on Skyrim, is in reality spent staring at the loading screens, alternatively flipping through shit on your phone.

More Games

Recently I downloaded some retro games from the PSN Store: GTA 3, GTA Vice City and GTA San Andreas. Of course I’ve played ‘em all back in the days on PS2 and PC. But 23 dollars for all of ‘em, well to me it’s a small price for a trip down memory lane. And while the technical aspect of the graphics is dated, the stories and gameplays are just great. In my book, the GTA series are the very best video games ever made.

I also got the new Call of Duty Uprising maps. Can’t tell you much about ‘em, haven’t yet played enough. Some reviews do say this particular map pack is more about the zombie part of COD. And I know a lot of you like zombies and stuff, but I never really got it. Maybe I’m too old.

image

And New Studio Gear

Some month ago I’ve invested in a subwoofer, the Yamaha HS 10W to complement my studio monitors HS 50M. While the monitor setup sounds (and looks) good and rich, I’m not sure it suits a corner of a small room in an apartment. Actually, it doesn’t. I don’t have space for this, but it’ll do for the time being.

And I got the new Reason 7 (after I participated in the beta testing). And for those not yet persuaded, check out this workshop.

Right, so there you have it, a post about nothing really.

