I usually don’t publish news related posts in the strict sense, but I’m making an exception: Reason version 7 will be available in the second quarter of 2013.

image

This piece of DAW has just got better and better for every rendition. And Reason 7 comes with MIDI out support to fully integrate hardware sound into the Reason environment.

Other features are the automatic slicing of audio recordings and a new bus channel-function to group shit in the mixer. There’s also a neat shortcut to create parallel channels.

In the past versions, the DAW lacked an adequate spectrum analyzer, but in Reason 7 there’s a built-in spectrum analyzer window with a graphic EQ for total control.

While I think the biggest leap was the inclusion of rack extensions in version 6.5, I’m not sure these new features – nonetheless desirable – deserve the constitution of version 7.

Note: I work with any given DAW, really, but primarily with Apple Logic Pro 9 and Propellerhead Reason 6.5 on Mac.

