Cannibal Ox is calling on fans to help finish their sophomore album. The duo has launched a Kickstarter campaign for this. The follow-up is meant to be released on Iron Galaxy Clik Records.

The Cold Vein from 2001 is one of my favorite albums of all time (any genre). In short, Vast Aire and Vordul Mega just killed it. The album was produced by El-P and released on his – by then, newly founded Definitive Jux – record label. (According to Billboard El-P will not be associated with future albums, which of course is a considerable blow.)

As much as I’d like to hear a new album by Cannibal Ox, I’m at the same time a bit perplexed about the way of funding it. As one commentator of the FACT Magazine’s article truthfully put it: “it makes me wonder if this is going to cause some sort of unsettling trend where fans are not only expected/obligated to buy an artist’s material but to also help fund the making of it? I mean, wtf, I remember reading stories about how artists bitd had to actually grind (engineer/DJ/work shitty day/night jobs) to fund their projects and it usually led towards a more rewarding end result.”

